All bookseller links are provided so you can get more information about a book. We have affiliate relationships with Barefoot Books, Amazon.com, and Tapestry Books. All revenue generated from sales through these venues is used strictly to cover website costs and minimize donation requests and fundraising campaigns.
    OR        



The average kindergarten student has seen more than 5,000 hours of television, having spent more time in front of the ... More


      Printer Friendly

Click cover to buy:

A STORM WITHOUT RAIN: A NOVEL IN TIME

Author: Jan Adkins

Illustrator: Jan Adkins

Reserve at the Library

Publisher: WoodenBoat Publications, ©2004

Material: hard cover

Summary: Jack Carter was to deliver a speech at his grandfather’s 93rd birthday party. Instead, he set sail for Penikese Island. While waiting for the tide to change, Jack fell asleep and awoke in 1904. In his effort to return home, he meets family ancestors who help him back to Marion, as well as understand how selfish and immature his behavior was and how much he owed his family and community. With all that said, he was still trapped in Marion, 1904. Would he be able to get back? How? This is an adventure story where the protagonist travels through time.

Type of Reading: bedtime story, family reading, read aloud book, middle grade reader

Recommended Age: 9 to 12

Age of Child: Teen STAR Review Team, Be the Star You Are!™

Young Reader Reaction: This book is a real gem and should be considered a minor classic. It is impressive that the story uses the science fiction convention of time travel not as an end in itself, but to to explore the deeper and more fulfilling themes of family and friendship.

Adult Reader Reaction: Adkins is writing about things he loves and knows innately. Unfortunately, the general readership is not at his level and therefore the detail is not exciting. It slows the reader down and requires a thesaurus to enjoy.

Pros: This is a good story plus. Jack Carter could be Tom Sawyer or Huck Finn. The adventures are believable and more importantly, are unobtrusive lessons in respect for people, pride in craftsmanship, responsibility to one’s community. One of the pleasures of this story is that it is filled with facinating details about what life was like in the Masachusetts Bay area, 1904; everything from how boats were built without power tools, how funerals were conducted, to what kind of toilet paper people used. Also, significantly, how people seemed less able to talk about and express their feelings.

Cons: The location of the story and the story itself revolve around the water, building and sailing boats, and appreciating all things nautical. Sometimes the jargon, comfortable for a Yankee, is a bit awesome to a land lubber! The front cover illustration and the way the book is bound gives the unfortunate impression that this is a book only for young children. It is not; it is a book for anyone and everyone.

Borrow or Buy: Buy. This is worthwhile for the 12- to 14 year-old who likes boats and sailing. It will also resonate with readers who like

If You Liked This Book, Try: GRANDPA'S BRIDGE: ABOUT A BOY, HIS GRANDPA AND THE BUILDING OF A BRIDGE   THE GREAT TRAIN RIDE (If You Want to Succeed You Need to Read, #4)   NIGHT OF THE RED MOON

Educational Themes: All of us are shaped by history. Sometimes, we forget how important the contributions of the past are to ourselves, our families, and communities. The "time warp" mechanism could generate interesting and exciting creative writing projects.

Literary Categories: fiction - transportation, history, adventure

Date(s) Reviewed: September 2005

Other Reviews: No Critics' Reviews found. See reader feedback at borders.com. We’re interested in your review. Please enter your Name (and blog in Parenthesis), then copy/paste your post link in the URL field. With a link exchange, we both benefit because interested readers can visit you too!




                 

Copyright © 2003 - 2017. The Reading Tub, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
The Reading Tub and Turning a Page ... Opening the World are registered trademarks of The Reading Tub Inc.
No use of these trademarks is permitted without written approval of The Reading Tub, Inc.
Privacy Policy.     Site developed by Sites2BeSeen.