All bookseller links are provided so you can get more information about a book. We have affiliate relationships with Barefoot Books, Amazon.com, and Tapestry Books. All revenue generated from sales through these venues is used strictly to cover website costs and minimize donation requests and fundraising campaigns.
    OR        



“The more you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go.” More


      Printer Friendly

Click cover to buy:

ANNIE AND SNOWBALL AND THE TEACUP CLUB (Ready to Read, Level 2)

Author: Cynthia Rylant

Illustrator: Sucie Stevenson

Reserve at the Library

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens,

Material: hard cover

Summary: Annie and Snowball (her pet rabbit) love to play with cousin Henry and his dog Mudge. But Annie loves teacups, too. Little boys and big dogs don't like dainty things, but they love Annie, and they want to help her find other teacup lovers. When Annie decides to create a Teacup Club, Henry is there to help paint the sign, make the cookies, and, best of all, share the leftovers. This illustrated story promotes sharing a story and helps kids who are becoming independent readers.

Type of Reading: family reading, anytime reading, learning to read, read aloud book, easy reader, developing reader, short chapter book, illustrated chapter book

Recommended Age: read together: 5 to 8; read yourself: 8 to 10

Interest Level: 5 to 9

Reading Level: 2.6

Adult Reader Reaction: Cynthia Rylant is a master at creating early reader stories. Through words and in illustration, her characters come to life and immediately endear themselves the their readers. The story is likely to inspire little girls to create their own teacup clubs. The chapters are presented subtly (simple titles, not numbers), perfect to keep reluctant readers reading longer than they had planned.

Pros: Fans of Henry and Mudge are sure to love Annie, who has a few more frills and a little less slobber!

Cons: None.

Borrow or Buy: Buy. The story is what makes this book, and it is likely to be read a lot. This is one of those books that girly-girls will love ... and remember when they are raising their own girly-girls.

If You Liked This Book, Try: CINDER RABBIT   DAISY DAWSON IS ON HER WAY (Daisy Dawson Series)   THE ONLY ONE CLUB

Educational Themes: This carefully crafted story, with repetitive words and phrases, offers context reading that will help reinforce sight words for remedial readers. The story has a lovely theme, making it easy to transition from reading to asking questions about feelings and events that can help with comprehension, too.

Notes: Flesch Kincaid reading level 3.3

This publisher sent a copy of this book as part of the 2009-2010 Children's and Young Adult Bloggers Literary Award (Cybils) process. This review is not intended to represent the opinions of the Cybils. The book will be donated to a reader in need.

Literary Categories: Fiction - friendship, family, learning to read, series book

Date(s) Reviewed: October 2008

Other Reviews:




                 

Copyright © 2003 - 2017. The Reading Tub, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
The Reading Tub and Turning a Page ... Opening the World are registered trademarks of The Reading Tub Inc.
No use of these trademarks is permitted without written approval of The Reading Tub, Inc.
Privacy Policy.     Site developed by Sites2BeSeen.