All bookseller links are provided so you can get more information about a book. We have affiliate relationships with Barefoot Books, Amazon.com, and Tapestry Books. All revenue generated from sales through these venues is used strictly to cover website costs and minimize donation requests and fundraising campaigns.
    OR        



Leave all sorts of reading materials including books, magazines, and colorful catalogs in conspicuous places around yo... More


      Printer Friendly

Click cover to buy:

MIDDLE SCHOOL, THE WORST YEARS OF MY LIFE

Author: James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts

Illustrator: Laura Park

Reserve at the Library

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company, 2011 [Scholastic edition]

Material: paperback

Summary: Hills Village Middle School, aka prison, has lots of rules. To make sure everyone knows what they are, Mrs. Stricker not only reads from her little green book with the Hills Village Middle School Code of Conduct, she gives every student a copy. Sixth grader Rafe Khatchadorian doesn't see it as a code as much as he sees it as a scorecard. Together, Rafe and his best friend Leo concoct Operation R.A.F.E (rules aren't for everyone). Middle school is going to be a blast! Comic-style illustrations complement the text in this fast-paced romp through 6th grade.

Type of Reading: independent reading, read aloud book

Recommended Age: read together:10 and Up; read yourself: 10 and Up

Interest Level: 9 and Up

Reading Level: 4.5

Age of Child: Read by a 12-year-old girl.

Young Reader Reaction: Our sixth grader laughed her way through Rafe's story of life in sixth grade. The illustrations were her favorite part, and she would get lost looking at them and forget about reading!

Adult Reader Reaction: The story is somewhat predictable and the characters are fairly stereotypical. It is clear that this book is aimed at boys, but girls will like it too.

Pros: Readers who love Wimpy Kid and Big Nate will find more friends at Hills Village Middle School, too.

Cons: None, really, because it gets kids reading. I just wish there were some fresh ideas and less stereotyping.

Borrow or Buy: Borrow. This is a book that will be read a couple of times, and then readers will want something else.

If You Liked This Book, Try: BIG NATE ON A ROLL   DIARY OF A WIMPY KID: THE LONG HAUL   THE CURSE OF ADDY McMAHON

Educational Themes: This is a book to read for fun. It could be fun to look at other common rules in life and create point systems for them - but with positive outcomes.

Notes: A Reading Tub® volunteer submitted this review. This is in her personal library.

Literary Categories: Fiction - middle grade series, school, family, coming of age, humor

Date(s) Reviewed: December 2015

Other Reviews: No Critics Reviews found at the time of this review. See reader feedback at barnesandnoble.com and amazon.com.




                 

Copyright © 2003 - 2017. The Reading Tub, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
The Reading Tub and Turning a Page ... Opening the World are registered trademarks of The Reading Tub Inc.
No use of these trademarks is permitted without written approval of The Reading Tub, Inc.
Privacy Policy.     Site developed by Sites2BeSeen.