All bookseller links are provided so you can get more information about a book. We have affiliate relationships with Barefoot Books,, and Tapestry Books. All revenue generated from sales through these venues is used strictly to cover website costs and minimize donation requests and fundraising campaigns.

61 percent of low-income families have no books at all in their homes for their children. More

      Printer Friendly

Click cover to buy:

MS. TURTLE THE BABYSITTER (I Can Read! Series, Level 1)

Author: Valeri Gorbachev

Illustrator: Valeri Gorbachev

Reserve at the Library

Publisher: HarperTrophy, an Imprint of HarperCollins Publisher,

Material: hard cover

Summary: Mother and Father Frog are going out, and Ms. Turtle is taking care of the three young Frogs. They are full of energy, she is full of wisdom. This is an early-reader story broken into three chapters.

Type of Reading: bedtime story, playtime reading, read aloud book, learning to read

Recommended Age: read together: 4 to 8; read yourself: 7 to 9

Interest Level: 5 to 8

Reading Level: 2.3

Age of Child: Shared with child nearly 6 years old.

Young Reader Reaction: We read all of the chapters in one sitting, as requested by our listener. S/He liked the story and asked, after the second reading, if it would be Okay to keep the book on their special shelf.

Adult Reader Reaction: Although this is a cute set of stories to read to a child as a bedtime story, it is better suited to partner reading or letting the child read.

Pros: This early reader chapter book offers stories that children can relate to, with an endearing Turtle as the caregiver.

Cons: None.

Borrow or Buy: Borrow. This is a book worth reading, as the stories are fun and engaging. Each chapter offers great opportunities to practice vocabulary and conversation. Still, as your child's reading becomes more skilled and their interests more sophisticated, this one will be set aside.

If You Liked This Book, Try: AMAZING DOLPHINS (I Can Read! Series)   DIRK BONES AND THE MYSTERY OF THE HAUNTED HOUSE (I Can Read! Series, Level 1)   MORRIS GOES TO SCHOOL (I Can Read Book Series, Level 1)

Educational Themes: This is a learning-to-read book that has short, separate stories.

Literary Categories: Fiction - animal characters, family, easy reader

Date(s) Reviewed: August 2007

Other Reviews:


Copyright © 2003 - 2018. The Reading Tub, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
The Reading Tub and Turning a Page ... Opening the World are registered trademarks of The Reading Tub Inc.
No use of these trademarks is permitted without written approval of The Reading Tub, Inc.
Privacy Policy.     Site developed by Sites2BeSeen.